Portabello Vegetable Quinoa Enchiladas with Chipotle Cream

Enchiladas is a new thing to me. Up until a few years ago, I could count how many different Mexican dishes I have eaten. Living in New York, there is only one place I go to for my fix of tacos. La Esquina is a must when I am around SoHo/Nolita and need a quick snack or pick me up. Their grilled fish tacos are the best and you can never go wrong with their elotes callejeros (grilled corn).  It has only been in the last year that I discovered how much I enjoy chicken tortilla soup!  Since then, I’ve been playing around with the flavors of chipotle. Here is one dish that goes so well with its spice!

Image

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • Corn tortillas (11 oz)
  • Can of tomatoes
  • Garlic, 3 cloves
  • Chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce, 2-3 pieces
  • Vegetables (Zucchini, red onions, broccoli, portabello, peppers,etc), cubed
  • 3 cans of fire roasted chiles, 4oz cans
  • Goat cheese
  • Jack cheese
  • Canola oil
  • Oregano, 1 teaspoon
  • Cumin, 1/2 teaspoon
  • Chili powder, 1 teaspoon
  • Salt
  • Sour cream
  • Garnish: avocado, tomatoes, cilantro

Cook 2 cups of quinoa per instructions on box. Set aside. Preheat to 350 degrees. In a blender, mix 1-2 pieces of chipotle peppers, entire can of tomato sauce, and spices. Pour some sauce onto a shallow plate, and also into your baking pan then set aside remaining sauce. In a pan with canola oil over medium heat, saute with onions and garlic. Then saute remaining vegetables and chiles for 3-5 minutes, sprinkle on oregano and salt. Combine the quinoa with the vegetables and continue to cook till well mixed. Then add goat cheese and spread into mixture. Set aside. In a small pan, heat each tortilla with a little water. This will prevent it from cracking during assembly. Then dip each side of the tortilla into the sauce. Scoop a large spoonful of vegetable/quinoa mixture onto the tortilla and gently fold each side over, laying the open folds flat side down in pan. Continue until you cover the bottom of the pan.

Whenever and wherever I can make cooking easier, I am game. Shredding cheese is one of those things I avoid if possible. Instead of shredding the cheese, I attempt to cut thin slices. Lay the thin slices of cheese over the layer of tortillas. Then pour sauce onto the layer. If you run out of room, feel free to stack one atop on another for another layer or use another small baking pan. Your call!

Once all the tortillas and filling is used up, pour the remaining sauce onto each layer.  Bake for 15 minutes.

To make the chipotle cream, in the blender combine sour cream and 1 chipotle.  And adding some lime juice will brighten it up. Garnish with cilantro, tomatoes, and avocados!

Image

The easiest way to squeeze goat cheese is to snip a corner of the package and just squeeze the cheese out. I’m a total middle-toothpaste squeezer and it’s apparent after I squeeze the goat-cheese.

Image

Image

Something like this can turn out to be edible. Trust me. I have had no complaints about the disarray of my food.

Image

Happy eats!

Image

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

