Birthday Six

I must be crazy. I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to set C’s sixth birthday party 30 hrs after we returned from a 28-day trip to Japan.  It definitely crossed my mind to postpone the party to the following Saturday- if anything, to buy more time and get myself readjusted to the time difference, but also since C got an ear infection 10 days before in Japan.  Since C wanted her baba-chan at the party and she was in town for just a few more days, I decided to keep things simple and plow through. I looked like crap for the party- no make-up, hair pulled in a ponytail, my gosh, was it even brushed that morning? And an outfit thrown on at the last minute. Pretty moms who looks all nice and purdy for their kid’s party – major clue that they outsourced the menu or had more than 31 hrs to prepare. The great takeaway from this was that I now know that I’m capable of cranking out a decent spread, if anything, I can specialize in shot-gun party planning.

IMG_1899

Menu

  • Farmers Market Crudité with Pesto Cannelini Bean Dip
  • Tortilla Chips with Japanese Heirloom Tomato Salsa
  • Chicken Cucumber Avocado Green Beans roll with Sesame Dressing
  • Noodle Salad with Carrot Ginger Dressing
  • Onigiri
  • Fruit Platter
  • White Cake with Homemade Strawberrry Jam and Strawberries and Buttercream Frosting
  • Brown Butter Rice Krispy Treats and Cookies
  • Strawberry Lemonade

The best decision I made for this party was 1) basing the party decor around washi tape, and 2) getting two lifeguards for the pool party so I could fret about my crudite platter looking all perfect. Totally kidding. Well, kinda. I just had to focus on the food. The menu planned at the very last minute was truly a seasonal influence with whatever I found appealing at the farmers market. Now you know you are limited on time when you don’t even have time to go to Costco.

The cake was literally decorated at the last-minute. After all the trouble of me guilt-tripping a fellow lady customer at the farmers market getting the last of the orange roses for her bouquet when I sighed loudly and happened to say out loud, “Ohhh, looks like there are no more orange roses that would go perfectly for your birthday cake, C…” But don’t worry, I’m not that big of a b*tch, I thanked her profusely and offered to pay for her bouquet (of swiped orange roses). I was worried about the 91 degree heat wilting the flower topping for the cake so I asked the Muir Ranch student/florist (an excellent program at the local public Pasadena HS that has a beautiful garden CSA that sells flowers at the farmers market) how to keep the flowers from heat exhaustion. He advised me to put it in the freezer. And so I too didn’t ended up with no orange roses either. That is what I get for guilt-tripping the woman. But I’m all about making a delicious cake than a pretty one. That is why I have no skills at decorating a cake. Or maybe I need to upgrade my ziploc piping bag.

The hand cut spelled out “six”, which I was very careful with the “i”, was initially the number 6 but I couldn’t figure out a way to cut out the hole in 6. And I couldn’t be happier with it because it got me to use more cardboard boxes. Go to find as many reasons and ways to reuse those Amazon boxes piling up in the closet. (Note to self- glue stick do not work like regular craft glue to glitterize bent cardboard.) Besides that, all went well and I toasted myself with a glass of champagne and leftover cake the next day. As much as I stress myself out over this, it’s worth it. Because birthdays should be a wonderful day to celebrate life. And, I hope C will one day look back at it all and think, “she tried her best.”

IMG_1897

IMG_4335

IMG_1898

IMG_1882

IMG_4374

The next day, I went to my happy place. Burrowed next to this slice of cake and bottle of bubbly.

IMG_4414

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Birthday Six

  1. Belinda says:

    I will totally hire you for my next party. Hostess with the mostest. Your cake looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

