Eight is Great

Sometimes having too much prep time calls for indecision. C and I toggled between the idea of a hamburger party, a flower party, and an ice cream party. Then two weeks to the birthday party date, we landed on the ice cream theme.

FullSizeRender (18)

A week prior, my kitchen was being re-tiled, and in the midst of an appliance upgrade that left me with a big hold where the dishwasher was supposed to be, I started thinking of a back-up plan. If I were smart, I’d just have planned to order some pizzas. Instead I took the stick out of my a*$ just half-way and went with the plan, and didn’t freak out too much.

So, I’m thrilled that with preparing for 24 people but having 30 people attending- I had food and drinks to serve, a party activity, and party favors. And with proper recognition, I’m so lucky to have party elves help me. The last years, we had Sara elf, then Belinda elf and Greg elf. This year, Tina elf and Eric elf helped us get this ice cream party off without a hitch. I seriously adore birthday elves.

Every year, I try to have a “science-y” activity for C’s birthday parties. This year, the Shake N’ Make ice cream activity was fun but I’m not gonna lie. Be prepared to have twelve 8 yr olds come up to you continually asking, “Is this ready, Ms. Audrey?”. Like every 30 seconds. There’s a photo of me looking stressed which I purposely did not include. But science is worth it, right?

Shake N Make Ice Cream Recipe:

  • 1/2 Cup Half n Half
  • 1 tsp Sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups ice
  • 1/3 cup salt
  • 1 gallon size ziploc bag
  • 1 sandwich size ziploc bag

Pour the first three ingredients into a sandwich size ziploc bag. Close firmly to ensure no leaks. In the gallon ziploc bag, add ice and salt. Close bag. Shake for 10-15 minutes. It should resemble slowly start to become a soft ice cream. Add your favorite toppings and enjoy with a spoon.

For our toppings bar we had: mochi, strawberry bubbles, roasted coconut chips, mini chocolate chips, mint cookie crumbles, diced strawberries, and red bean.  When you serve rice balls, you can serve red bean.

FullSizeRender (16)

IMG_2514

FullSizeRender (19)The past few years of practice have made me realize that I’m going to run with this plan no matter how much time I have to prep. A successful formula for C’s birthday party is:

Good friends n’ family + Food + Cold drinks + Homemade treats + Pool + Plenty of  Shade = A great time for all.

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

